Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Skip to main content

Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation


Often referred to as the "father of medicine" for his lasting contributions to the field, Hippocrates was revered as the ideal physician and admired as a teacher. The Hippocratic Oath is considered a rite of passage for doctors to this day, setting the highest ethical standards for compassionate care, respect for patient privacy and sharing scientific knowledge for the benefit of future generations. Hippocrates' approach to scientific discovery and empathetic care has inspired the establishment of the Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation (HCRF).

Our Mission

Nearly half of all men and one-third of women in the United States will develop cancer during their lifetime. The mission of the Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation is to discover, develop and implement effective new treatments for patients with cancer by advancing groundbreaking research. Our goal — to eliminate cancer and save lives — is ambitious but achievable.

The Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation's diverse network of donors will provide the philanthropic support to fund interdisciplinary research teams at the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University, empowering their world-class investigators to join forces and address the most urgent questions in the fields of cancer biology and oncology in daring and innovative ways. By investing in "out of the box" research, with an emphasis on translational cancer research, the HCRF will accelerate and heighten the impact of scientific discoveries.

View a presentation by Leonidas Platanias, MD, PhD on Recent Advances in Cancer Research and Therapeutic Approaches.

The Heart of the Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation

Kick off the summer on Friday, June 21, and help HCRF fund translational research at the Lurie Cancer Center.

Buy Tickets

The Wings to Cure Annual Gala

On Saturday, November 10, HCRF raised more than $3.5 million to benefit high-impact translational research at the Lurie Cancer Center. “I Will Survive” was the theme of the black-tie event, attended by more than 600 guests at Chicago’s Navy Pier.

2018 Gala Photo Gallery


 Executive Board

Mrs. Eleni Bousis, Chair

Mrs. Kelly Apostolopoulos

Mrs. Susana Alberti de Berdakin   

Mr. George Bousis

Mr. & Mrs. Elias Boufis

Mr. Gus Danos

Mrs. Susanne Fein

Mr. Peter Karahalios

Dr. & Mrs. John Kotis

Mr. Anton and Dr. Michele Marano

Mr. & Mrs. Dean Marousis

Ms. Katerina Panagopoulos

Mr. Peter Rahal

Mr. & Mrs. Alex Samoylovich

Mr. Rishi Shah

Mr. Ilan Shalit

Mr. George Sourounis

Mrs. Rozalia Vologin

 Scientific Advisory Board

Leonidas C. Platanias, MD, PhD

Jessica Altman, MD

Angela C. Argento, MD

Angeline N. Beltsos, MD

Frank D. Eckerdt, MDA

Olga Frankfurt, MD

William J. Gradishar, MD

Maha Hussain, MD

John A. Kotis, MD

Nicole Liadis, PhD

Michele Marano, DN

Lisa Palivos, MD

Chris J. Pavlatos, MD

Roger Stupp, MD

 Founding Board

Her Royal Highness Crown Princess  
Katherine of Serbia

Hon. Greek Minister of Tourism,
Mrs. Elena Kountoura

Mr. Alex Afshari

Mrs. Susana Alberti de Berdakin

Mr. & Mrs. Kosta Apostolopolous  

Mr. Chris Atsaves

Dr. Angie Beltsos

Mr. Diego Berdakin

Mr. & Mrs. John Bodine

Mr. & Mrs. Nikolaos Bonatsos

Mr. & Mrs. Gerard Borys

Mr. & Mrs. Elias Boufis

Mr. George Bousis

Mr. & Mrs. Jimmy Bousis

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Cronin

Mr. & Mrs. Daniel Devir Unanue

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Diamond

Mr. Robert S. Fakhouri

The Honorable and Mrs. Roger Fein

Mr. & Mrs. Themis Galanis

Mr. Tom Gialamas

Mrs. Susan Gutfreuned

Mr. & Mrs. John Harris

Ms. Candace Jordan

Mr. and Mrs. John Kampas

Mr. Peter G. Karahalios

Mrs. Cheri Kaufman

Fr. & Presv. Chris Kerkeres  

Mr. & Mrs. Michael Kosmidis

Dr. & Mrs. John Kotis

Dr. & Mrs. Hercules Logothetis

Mr. & Mrs. Jim Logothetis

Mr. Angelo Loumis

Ms. Annasophia Loumis

Mr. & Mrs. John Manos

Mrs. Filisa Mantas

Dr. Dino Mantis

Dr. Christina A. Mantis †

Mrs. Stella-Alexia Mantzaris

Mr. Anton & Dr. Michele Marano

Mrs. Kristina McGrath

Mr. & Mrs. Joe McMahon

Mr. Jay Michael †

Mr. Matt Norkett

Doctors Louis & Lisa Palivos

Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Palivos

Ms. Eleni Papantoniou

Dr. Chris Pavlatos

Mr. & Mrs. Alexander Pissios

Mr. & Mrs. Jason Pritzker

Mrs. Vonita Reescer

Mr. & Mrs. Alex Samoylovich

Mr. and Mrs. Alexandros Saratzis

Mr. & Mrs. Ilan Shalit

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Sianis

Mrs. Eleni Tzotzolis

Mr. & Mrs. Haralambos Tzotzolis

Mrs. Marianna Vardinogiannis

Mrs. Roza Vologin

Mr. John Weigand

 Founding Committee

Mrs. Helen Alexander

Dr. Christina Argentos

Mr. & Mrs. Ted Arvanitis

Mr. Evangelo Bousis

Ms. Victoria Bousis

Dr. & Mrs. George Bovis

Mr. & Mrs. Jeffrey Cantalupo  

Mr. & Mrs. Lou Canellis

Hon. Peggy Chiampas

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Coutretsis

Mr. & Mrs. George Dana

Ms. Anna Davlantes

Ms. Nike Demacopoulos

Ms. Maria Dollas

Mr. Niko Drakoulis

Ms. Kristine Farra

Mrs. Claire Florence

Mr. Michael George

Ms. Pat Gerbanas

Ms. Susanna Homan

Ms. Bonnie Hunt

Mr. Dean Kaliakmanis Jr.

Ms. Kathy Kaporis

Mr. Nick Kavadas

Mr. Christos Kiosses  

Mr. & Mrs. Frank Klopas

Mrs. Eleni Kouimelis

Mr. and Mrs. George Maglares

Mr. & Mrs. Jonathan Man

Ms. Charmaine Michael

Mr. Alexios Milioulis

Mr. Dimitri Minakakis

Mrs. Anna Gonis O'Connor

Ms. Anastasia Palivos

Mr. & Mrs. Peter Palivos

Mr. & Mrs. Andrea Papantoniou

Ms. Bianca Pigounakis

Mr. Nick Pissios

Mrs. Julie Platanias

Mr. and Mrs. Mark Psaltis

Mr. Mark Roberts

Dr. & Mrs. George Skarpathiotis

Mr. & Mrs. George Sourounis

Mr. Constantine Stamatakos

Mr. Elliot Taylor

Ms. Vera Tkach

Doctors Dimitri & Lina Tsoukas

Mr. & Mrs. Taso Tzotzolis

Mr. & Mrs. Dennis Xenos

Mrs. Maria Daskalakis Zervas


Ms. Sabrina Auer

Mr. Dimitrios Drossos     

Ms. Leah Farra

Dr. Agni Kakouri

Mr. George Limperis

Ms. Lainey Manos

Ms. Martina Platanias

Mr. and Mrs. Kristopher Roberts

Mr. Jad Farra

Mr. Michael Psaltis

Ms. Katina Kopsias



Contact Us

Rodrigo Leanos
Rodrigo Leaños
Philanthropy Associate
Phone: 312-926-7393

Back to top