Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Skip to main content

Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation


Often referred to as the "father of medicine" for his lasting contributions to the field, Hippocrates was revered as the ideal physician and admired as a teacher. The Hippocratic Oath is considered a rite of passage for doctors to this day, setting the highest ethical standards for compassionate care, respect for patient privacy and sharing scientific knowledge for the benefit of future generations. Hippocrates' approach to scientific discovery and empathetic care has inspired the establishment of the Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation (HCRF).

Our Mission

Nearly half of all men and one-third of women in the United States will develop cancer during their lifetime. The mission of the Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation is to discover, develop and implement effective new treatments for patients with cancer by advancing groundbreaking research. Our goal — to eliminate cancer and save lives — is ambitious but achievable.

The Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation's diverse network of donors will provide the philanthropic support to fund interdisciplinary research teams at the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University, empowering their world-class investigators to join forces and address the most urgent questions in the fields of cancer biology and oncology in daring and innovative ways. By investing in "out of the box" research, with an emphasis on translational cancer research, the HCRF will accelerate and heighten the impact of scientific discoveries.

Watch a video to learn more about the HCRF mission.

View a presentation by Leonidas Platanias, MD, PhD on Recent Advances in Cancer Research and Therapeutic Approaches.


The Wings to Cure Annual Gala

The Hippocratic Cancer Research Foundation's fourth annual gala, The Wings to Cure, took place on Saturday, November 16, 2019. This black-tie event raised vital funds to accelerate high-impact translational research at the Lurie Cancer Center.

2019 Gala Photo Gallery 2019 Gala Video 2018 Gala Photo Gallery


 Executive Board

Mrs. Eleni Bousis, Chair

Mrs. Susana Alberti de Berdakin★

Mr. & Mrs. Kosta Apostolopoulos★

Mr. & Mrs. Elias Boufis★

Mr. George Bousis★

Mr. & Mrs. Gus Danos

The Honorable & Mrs. Roger Fein★

Mr. & Mrs. Themis Galanis★

Mr. Tommy Kane

Mr. Peter G. Karahalios★

Mr. Anton & Dr. Michele Marano, DN★

Mr. & Mrs. Dean Marousis★

Mr. & Mrs. Joe McMahon★

Doctors Louis & Lisa Palivos★

Mr. Alexander Pissios★

Mr. Peter Rahal★

Mr. Mark Roberts★

Mr. & Mrs. Alex Samoylovich★

Mr. Rishi Shah★

Mr. Ilan Shalit★

Mrs. Rozalia Vologin★

 Scientific Advisory Board

Leonidas C. Platanias, MD, PhD, Chair

Jessica Altman, MD

Angela C. Argento, MD★

Angeline N. Beltsos, MD★

Angelo A. Costas, MD

Frank D. Eckerdt, PhD

Stilianos Efstratiadis, MD★

Olga Frankfurt, MD

William J. Gradishar, MD

Maha Hussain, MD

John A. Kotis, MD★

Nicole Liadis, PhD★

Dino Mantis, DDS★

Michele Marano, DN★

Dimitrios Nikas, MD★

Lisa Palivos, MD★

Christ J. Pavlatos, MD★

Amanda Saratsis, MD★

Roger Stupp, MD

Maria (Lina) Tsoukas, MD, PhD★

 Founding Board

Mr. Chris Atsaves

Mr. Diego Berdakin

Mr. & Mrs. John Bodine

Mr. & Mrs. Nikolaos Bonatsos

Mr. & Mrs. Gerard Borys

Mr. & Mrs. Jimmy Bousis

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Cronin

Ms. Inese Driehaus

Mr. Robert S. Fakhouri, Esq.

Ms. Kristine Farra

Greek American Restaurant Assoc.

Mrs. Susan Gutfreuned

Mr. & Mrs. John Harris

Ms. Candace Jordan

Mr. & Mrs. John Kampas

Mrs. Cheri Kaufman

Mr. & Mrs. Michael Kosmidis

Dr. & Mrs. John Kotis

MEP, Mrs. Elena Kountoura

Mr. & Mrs. Jim Logothetis

Mr. Angelo Loumis

Ms. Annasophia Loumis

Mr. & Mrs. John Manos

Mrs. Filisa Mantas

Dr. Christina A. Mantis †

Ms. Stella-Alexia Mantzaris

Mrs. Kristina McGrath

Mr. Jay Michael †

Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Palivos

Mr. & Mrs. Jason Pritzker

Mrs. Vonita Reescer

Mr. & Dr. Alexandros Saratzis

HRH Katherine of Serbia

Mr. & Mrs. Tom Sianis

Mrs. Eleni Tzotzolis

Mr. & Mrs. Haralambos Tzotzolis

Mrs. Marianna Vardinogiannis

Mr. Johnathan Weigand

 Founding Committee

Mr. Evangelo Bousis

Ms. Victoria Bousis

Dr. & Mrs. George Bovis

Mr. & Mrs. Lou Canellis

Mr. & Mrs. Jeffrey Cantalupo

Mr. & Mrs. Alex Dana

Mrs. Anna Davlantes

Ms. Maria Dollas

Mr. Michael George

Ms. Pat Gerbanas

Ms. Kathryn Kaporis Gianaras

Ms. Susanna Homan

Ms. Bonnie Hunt

Mr. Nick Kavadas

Mr. Christos Kiosses  

Mrs. Eleni Kouimelis

Mr. & Mrs. Jonathan Man

Mr. Alexios Milioulis

Mr. Dimitri Minakakis

Mr. Matt Norkett

Mrs. Anna Gonis O'Connor

Ms. Anastasia Palivos

Mr. & Mrs. Peter Palivos

Ms. Katerina Panagopoulos

Mrs. Julie Platanias

Mr. & Mrs. Mark Psaltis

Ms. Julie Reeder

Mr. & Mrs. Scott Seaman

Dr. & Mrs. George Skarpathiotis

Mr. Constantine Stamatakos

Ms. Vera Tkach

Mrs. Maria Daskalakis Zervas


Mr. & Mrs. Dean Ademopoulos

Ms. Sabrina Auer★

Dr. Garry Cooper

Dr. Jill Cotseones

Mr. & Mrs. Patrick Daley

Mr. Dimitrios Drossos     

Mr. Jad Farra

Ms. Leah Farra

Ms. Stella Frenkel

Mr. Steven Galanis

Dr. Agni Kakouri

Fr. & Presv. Chris Kerkeres★

Ms. Katina Kopsias

Mr. & Mrs. George Maglares

Ms. Lainey Manos

Ms. Madeline Merageas

Ms. Doretta Mistras

Mr. Nick Pissios

Ms. Martina Platanias★

Mr. Ryan Preuett

Mr. Michael Psaltis

Mr. & Mrs. Kristopher Robert

Mr. & Mrs. Taso Tzotzolis★

Ms. Jade Williams

Ms. Dalila Youkhana



Contact Us

Katina Kopsias
Philanthropy Associate
Phone: 312-926-5426

Back to top