Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Skip to main content

2020 IDP Foundation Research Innovation Challenge Award Recipients Announced

The Lurie Cancer Center is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 IDP / Sherman Fairchild Foundation Research Innovation Challenge Awards. Funded by a generous donation from the IDP Foundation, including a generous supplementary donation from the Sherman Fairchild Foundation, these grants support innovative, team-driven cancer research projects that are translational in nature, and also cross-disciplinary and collaborative in design and conduct.

It is anticipated that these awards will support projects that could evolve to SPORE or PO1 applications and, in some cases, large multi-PI R01s.

The 2020 award recipients are:

“Steroid receptor coactivators as potential targets for inhibition in prostate cancer”

Co-Principal Investigators:

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD and Jindan Yu, MD, PhD

“Development of a brain-penetrant GPX4 inhibitor to exploit ferroptosis vulnerabilty of IDH1-wt glioblastoma”

Co-Principal Investigators :

Alexander Stegh, PhD and Gary Schiltz, PhD