Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Skip to main content

Announcing H Foundation Basic/Population Science Award Recipients

The Lurie Cancer Center is pleased to announce the recipients of a new $150,000 award from the H Foundation that could impact outcomes and improve the standard of care for patients with glioblastoma. The funding will provide the beginning infrastructure needed for an interdisciplinary team of investigators led by Derek Wainwright, PhD, and Theresa Walunas, PhD.

The cross-disciplinary pilot project brings together investigators with expertise in geroscience, neuroimmunology, neuro-oncology, rehab medicine, biomedical informatics and social sciences to examine why glioblastoma patients over 65 years of age have poorer treatment outcomes compared with younger patients. The team will integrate basic science and clinical data as a foundation for developing pre-clinical models that will be used to improve treatment efficacy for this group of patients.

The team members and their research programs are:


Derek A. Wainwright, PhD
Tumor Environment & Metastasis (TEAM)


Theresa L. Walunas, PhD
Translational Research in Solid Tumors (TRIST)


Rimas V. Lukas, MD
Translational Research in Solid Tumors (TRIST)


Deyu Fang, PhD
Tumor Environment & Metastasis (TEAM)


Ishan Roy, MD, PhD
Cancer Control & Survivorship (CCS)


John Peipert, PhD
Cancer Control & Survivorship (CCS)