Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Skip to main content

Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Program

The Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Program provides high-quality, innovative care, putting patients and their families first and advancing the biology of stem cell transplantation. Our program is the leader in volume and types of transplants, averaging over 350 transplantations per year, resulting in survival rates consistently exceeding the national survival rate.

Stem cell transplants are regularly used in treatment of the following cancers:

  • Leukemia (Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia)
  • Lymphoma (Hodgkin's Lymphoma and Non-Hodgkin's Lymphomas, such as Large B-Cell Lymphoma, Mantle Cell Lymphoma and Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma)
  • Multiple Myeloma and Myelodysplastic Syndromes

There are three main types of stem cell transplants, based on donor source:

  • Autologous transplant: Cells are taken from your own bone marrow before chemotherapy and are then replaced after cancer treatment
  • Allogeneic transplant: Stem cells come from a donor whose tissue most closely matches your own
  • Syngeneic transplant: The stem cell donor is your identical twin

The best type of transplant for you will depend on your disease, the availability of a matched donor, your age and your general health. We’ll work with you closely to help you make an informed decision.

To learn more about the program, call 312-926-5400.